top of page

Auditor Thomas Elected Secretary/Treasurer of OCCO

Ashtabula County Auditor Thomas Elected Secretary/Treasurer of Ohio County Organization

Columbus- The Ohio Council of County Officials (OCCO) elected new officers at their January organizational meeting with Ashtabula County’s Auditor David Thomas selected to serve as the Secretary/Treasurer for the Statewide Organization.

“I am greatly honored to be elected to this role to help lead this important state organization,” said Auditor Thomas. “The OCCO does great work representing the interests of counties in Columbus and this will be another good opportunity to help have Ashtabula County get a seat at the table.”

The OCCO is comprised of 10 associations for county officials in the State of Ohio and meets every other month in Columbus to discuss common issues and ideas across county and officeholder lines.

Also elected was President Shelby County Clerk of Courts Michele Mumford, and Vice President Hancock County Prosecutor Phil Riegle. Athens County Auditor Jill Davidson is the outgoing President for the group.

“Already in our first meeting we began to discuss common legislative priorities and how as a group we can work together to lobby the legislature to achieve these goals,” explained Auditor Thomas.

Speakers at OCCO meetings include elected state leaders in the legislature and statewide government as well as state department heads and staff who interact with county officials and residents on a daily basis.

Thomas also currently serves as the Secretary/Treasurer for the Northeast Ohio Auditor’s Association and chair of the Public Relations Committee for the County Auditor’s Association of Ohio.

(Pictured is Ashtabula County Auditor David Thomas taking the Oath of Office as Secretary/Treasurer for the Ohio Council of County Officials from Retired Ohio Supreme Court Justice Paul Pfeifer.)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page